Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

22 November 2007

Preparation of Report: Foreign Policy Aspects of the EU Reform Treaty

The Foreign Affairs Committee today announced its decision to produce a Report on Foreign Policy Aspects of the EU Reform Treaty. The Report forms part of the Committee's ongoing inquiry into Developments in the European Union.

The EU Reform Treaty is expected to be signed by EU Member States on 13 December 2007 in Lisbon. The Committee intends that its Report will help to inform the House before Parliamentary consideration of the Government bill providing for ratification of the Reform Treaty.

Issues to be considered in the Committee's Report will include:

€ The impact of the Reform Treaty on EU foreign policy-making

€ The new posts created by the Reform Treaty, of a High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, and a full-time, longer-term President of the European Council

€ The European External Action Service planned under the Reform Treaty and its possible implications for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office

€ The Government's foreign policy 'red line' regarding the Reform Treaty

The Committee took oral evidence in September and October 2007 from the Foreign Secretary, the Rt Hon David Miliband MP, and the Minister for Europe, Mr Jim Murphy MP, on the draft Reform Treaty and related matters. The Committee will be taking further oral evidence from the Foreign Secretary on Wednesday 12 December 2007.

Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats.

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on