Foreign Affairs Committee

16 January 2007

Publication of Report - Guantanamo Bay

A comprehensive report on the US detention facility at Guantnamo Bay will be released by the Foreign Affairs Committee next Sunday. The Committee became the first members of a national parliament, other than the US Congress, to visit the base in September of last year.

The report will place on record the Committee's first-hand findings from the visit, furnished with further evidence taken from Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Committee's own back catalogue. The Committee also made a comparative visit to see the measures taken at the Belmarsh maximum security detention facility.

The report seeks to make a further contribution to the debate on a number of issues relating to the US authorities' continued detention of men classed by the US as 'unlawful enemy combatants'.

This will be the Committee's second report of Session 2006-7 (HC 44). Embargoed copies will be made available from midday on 19 January. The embargo will run until 0001 on Sunday 21 January.

Copies of the report will be available for members of the press in the Press Gallery, House of Commons. The Committee's report will also be available on the internet from the time of publication and copies may be purchased from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, London SW1A 2JX, Tel 020 7219 3890) or The Stationery Office (Parliamentary Hotline 0845 7023 474).

Further Information:

1.The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on