FAC PN 01 (05-06)

Foreign Affairs Committee

First Meeting of Committee

At its first meeting on Tuesday 19 July 2005, the Foreign Affairs Committee:

► elected Mike Gapes MP as its Chairman;

► agreed to carry out a continuing inquiry into Foreign Policy Aspects of the War against Terrorism, with a particular focus in the Autumn of 2005 on the Middle East and on the Arabian peninsula;

► agreed to inquire into the Foreign and Commonwealth Office's Departmental Annual Report for 2004-05, including the work of the British Council and the BBC World Service;

► agreed to inquire into Human Rights, basing its inquiry on the FCO's Annual Report on Human Rights for 2005;

► agreed to conduct a continuing inquiry into Developments in the European Union.

Further announcements of oral evidence sessions to be held in October and of deadlines for receipt of written evidence will be made in due course.

Notes to Editors:

The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's  website at http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/foreign_affairs_committee.cfm

Membership of the Committee:

Mike Gapes (Ilford South) Lab, Chairman
Mr Fabian Hamilton (Leeds North East) Lab
Mr John Horam (Orpington) Con
Mr Eric Illsley (Barnsley Central) Lab
Mr Paul Keetch (Hereford) Lib Dem
Rt Hon Mr Andrew Mackay (Bracknell) Con
Andrew Mackinlay (Thurrock) Lab
Mr John Maples (Stratford-on-Avon) Con
Sandra Osborne (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock) Lab
Mr Greg Pope (Hyndburn) Lab
Mr Ken Purchase (Wolverhampton North East) Lab
Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Tonbridge and Malling) Con
Ms Gisela Stuart (Birmingham Edgbaston) Lab
Richard Younger-Ross (Teignbridge) Lib Dem

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Adele Brown, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 0724.