European Scrutiny Committee

News Release, PN No. 3, 2006-07

Home Affairs and European Scrutiny Committees

Committees announce one-off evidence session on migration issues relating to the accession of Bulgaria and Romania to the EU

The European Scrutiny and Home Affairs Committees will hold a one-off evidence session on 'migration issues relating to the accession of Bulgaria and Romania to the EU' on Thursday 7 December. In particular the Committees wish to question the Minister on the arrangements for managed migration set out in the Home Secretary's Written Ministerial Statement of 24 October 2006.

Date and time: Thursday 7 December at 10.15 a.m.

Witness: Liam Byrne, Minister of State, Home Office

Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

The sessions will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms are subject to change: those interested in attending the session should check the Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 a few days before the meeting.

Notes for Editors:

The membership of the Committees is as follows:

European Scrutiny Committee

Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Linlithgow & East Falkirk
Richard Bacon MP, Conservative, Norfolk South
David Borrow MP, Labour, South Ribble
William Cash MP, Conservative, Stone
Katy Clark MP, Labour, North Ayrshire and Arran
Wayne David MP, Labour, Caerphilly
Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Heywood & Middleton
Michael Gove MP, Conservative, Surrey Heath
Nia Griffith MP, Labour, Llanelli
David Hamilton MP, Labour, Midlothian
David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Wells
Jimmy Hood MP, Labour, Lanark & Hamilton East
Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Chorley
Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Moray
Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Totnes
Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem, Teignbridge

Home Affairs Committee

Rt Hon John Denham (Chairman), Labour, Southampton, Itchen
Mr Richard Benyon, Conservative, Newbury
Mr Jeremy Browne, Liberal Democrat, Taunton
Ms Karen Buck, Labour, Regent's Park and Kensington North
Mr James Clappison, Conservative, Hertsmere
Mrs Ann Cryer, Labour, Keighley
Mrs Janet Dean, Labour, Burton
Margaret Moran, Labour, Luton South
Gwyn Prosser, Labour, Dover
Bob Russell, Liberal Democrat, Colchester
Martin Salter, Labour, Reading West
Mr Richard Spring, Conservative, West Suffolk
Mr Gary Streeter, Conservative, South West Devon
Mr David Winnick, Labour, Walsall North


A dedicated telephone line provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033. The general inquiry lines for committee activity remain 020 7219 3267/4300.

House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA

General Enquiries: 020 7219 3292/5465

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer 020 7219 0724

Fax: 020 7219 2509