European Scrutiny Committee

No. 13
(Session 2003-04)



The European Scrutiny Committee will take oral evidence on Wednesday 28 April at 9.30 am in Committee Room No. 19 from Caroline Flint MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Home Office, on the European Evidence Warrant.

The European Evidence Warrant would provide for the near-automatic recognition and enforcement of search warrants across the EU.  It would require a warrant to be enforced even in a country in which the conduct to which it relates was not criminal.  The Committee published a report on the  European Evidence Warrant in February ( HC 42-ix (2003-04), para 17).  In that report the Committee said that, given the importance and sensitivity of the issues raised by this proposal, it would ask the Minister to give oral evidence.

For further information telephone 020 7219 5467/6481/3292.

26 April 2004

Notes for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated. Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House. The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments.

The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Colin Breed MP - Lib Dem - Cornwall South East
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Tony Cunningham MP - Labour - Workington
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Terry Davis MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
David Heathcoat-Amory MP - Conservative - Wells
Mark Hendrick MP - Labour - Preston
Jim Marshall MP - Labour - Leicester South
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:                                                                

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to