European Scrutiny Committee

No. 8
(Session 2002-03)


The European Scrutiny Committee has arranged a meeting today between UK Parliamentarians and the UK Members of the European Parliament.  This is the first such meeting.  The purpose of the meeting is to increase contact and understanding between the UK's MPs and MEPs and to promote co-operation and co-ordination in areas where both have an interest.  In the Committee's view such increased contact between parliamentarians could help to promote democracy and accountability in the EU.

The aim will be to discuss specific matters which both Westminster and the European Parliament are (or will be) dealing with, and to identify areas where there is common ground or where the two institutions can learn from each other about the significance of forthcoming proposals and the balance of opinion in the respective parliaments.

For further information telephone 020 7219 6481.

25 February 2003

Notes for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated. Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House. The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments.

The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Colin Breed MP - Lib Dem - Cornwall South East
Roger Casale MP - Labour - Wimbledon
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Tony Cunningham MP - Labour - Workington
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Terry Davis MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Mark Hendrick MP - Labour - Preston
Jim Marshall MP - Labour - Leicester South
Anne McIntosh MP - Conservative - Vale of York
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:                                                                

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to