European Scrutiny Press Notice 2

Oral evidence from Chris Bryant MP, Minister for Europe

The European Scrutiny Committee will be taking evidence in public from the Minister for Europe (Chris Bryant) on 24 February 2010 at 2.30pm in Committee Room 19, Palace of Westminster. The session will be about:

€ the EU's role in the management of the Arctic Region; and

€ the need €” confirmed by this case €” for the House of Commons to scrutinise the draft of Council Conclusions before the Government commits the UK to support them.

The Committee's Report on The European Union and the Arctic Region contains the background to the evidence session.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

2. Read the transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

European Scrutiny Committee Website

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on