European Scrutiny Committee

No. 03
(Session 2005-06)



On Wednesday 26 October the European Scrutiny Committee will take evidence in public from Fiona Mactaggart, MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Mark de Pulford, Head of Trial Policy and Procedure Unit, Ros Johnson, Trial Policy and Procedure Unit, and Kevan Norris, Assistant Legal Adviser, European Law, Home Office, on procedural rights in criminal proceedings.  This evidence session will take place at 2.30 pm in Committee Room 19.

For further information  telephone 020 7219 5467/3292

20 October 2005

Note for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated.  Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House.  The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments. 

The UK's European Union Presidency runs from 1 July to 31 December 2005.

The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Lanark and Hamilton East
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
David Borrow MP - Labour - South Ribble
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Linlithgow and East Falkirk
Rosie Cooper MP - Labour - West Lancashire
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Michael Gove MP - Conservative - Surrey Heath
Nia Griffith MP - Labour - Llanelli
David Hamilton MP - Labour - Midlothian
David Heathcoat-Amory MP - Conservative - Wells
Lindsay Hoyle MP - Labour - Chorley
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Richard Younger Ross MP - Lib Dem - Teignbridge

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to