European Scrutiny Committee, Press Notice No. 16

Select Committee Announcement

Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 3JA
Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson 020 7219 1589

20 June 2008


The European Scrutiny Committee will be taking evidence in public from Mrs Margot Wallstrm, Vice President of the European Commission responsible for Institutional relations and communication strategy, on Monday 23 June.

The Committee will ask Mrs Wallstrm questions about the provisions in the Lisbon Treaty on the role of national parliaments in European Union legislation and other activites. In particular, the Committee will ask her about the proposal on the role of national parliaments in ensuring that the European Union acts only where it can add value, and where action at individual Member State level is insufficient to achieve the proposed objectives.

The evidence session will take place at 2.30pm in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House, Palace of Westminster.

For more information please contact Alex Paterson (Contact details above).


1 Article 5 of the Treaty on European Union as amended by the Lisbon Treaty states that "Under the principle of subsidiarity, in areas which do not fall within its exclusive competence, the Union shall act only if and insofar as the objectives of the proposed action cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States, either at central or at regional and local level, but can rather, by reason of the scale or effects of the proposed action, be better achieved at Union level."

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

2. Transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on