European Scrutiny Committee

No. 25
(Session 2002-03)



On Wednesday 19 November the European Scrutiny Committee will take evidence in public from Mr Michel Servoz, Head of Strategic Planning and Co-ordination Unit, and Mr Peter Handley, Principal Administrator, Strategic Planning and Co-ordination Unit, Secretariat General of the European Commission, on the Commission's annual Legislative and Work Programme for 2004.  This evidence session will take place at 2.40 pm in Committee Room No. 19 on the Upper Committee Corridor, House of Commons.

For further information  telephone 020 7219 5467/3292

Note for Editors

In the Committee's Thirtieth Report of 2002-03 on European scrutiny in the Commons, the Committee indicated its intention of making scrutiny of the Commission's Annual Work Programme an important part of its own programme, as this offered an opportunity to consider possible legislative proposals at a much earlier stage.   The Committee held an evidence session on 31 October 2002 with the Commission.

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated.  Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House.  The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments. 

 The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Colin Breed MP - Lib Dem - Cornwall South East
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Tony Cunningham MP - Labour - Workington
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Terry Davis MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
David Heathcoat-Amory MP - Conservative - Wells
Mark Hendrick MP - Labour - Preston
Jim Marshall MP - Labour - Leicester South
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:                                                                

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to