European Scrutiny Committee

No. 16
(Session 2002-03)


The Standing Committee on the Convention on the Future of Europe, which includes the members of the European Scrutiny and Foreign Affairs Committees and can be attended and participated in by any member of either House, will meet on Monday 16 June at 7.15 p.m. in Committee Room 10.  The Committee is a means by which the two Houses' representatives on the Convention can report back to members of the two Houses and hear their views.  This will be the fourth such meeting.

The Commons representatives on the Convention are Gisela Stuart MP and David Heathcoat-Amory MP.  The Lords representatives are Lord Maclennan of Rogart and Lord Tomlinson.

The meeting is open to the public. The current venue is Committee Room 10 at the House of Commons.  Access is via St Stephen's entrance at the House of Commons.  It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Room.  Committee rooms are subject to change.  It is advisable that those interested check the House of Commons Committee Information Line which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information.  The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days.  The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.

For further information telephone 0207 219 1341.

12 June 2003

Notes for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated. Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House. The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  Under the House's scrutiny reserve resolution, Ministers should not agree to EU proposals until the Committee has completed its consideration of them, or any debate it has recommended has taken place.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments.

The Convention on the Future of Europe was set up to prepare proposals for the EU's Inter-Governmental Conference in 2004.  It began meeting in February 2002, and is due to present its proposals on 20 June 2003.  It is currently drafting a new constitutional treaty to replace the existing treaties.  The European Scrutiny Committee's main contribution to debate in the Convention was a report of June 2002 on Democracy and accountability in the EU and the role of national parliaments (Thirty-third report of 2001-02, HC 152-xxxiii) and a report on The Convention on the Future of Europe and the Role of National Parliaments (Twenty-fourth report of 2002-03, HC 63-xxiv) due to be published on Monday 16 June 2003 (see Press Notice No. 15).

The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Colin Breed MP - Lib Dem - Cornwall South East
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Tony Cunningham MP - Labour - Workington
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Terry Davis MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Mark Hendrick MP - Labour - Preston
Jim Marshall MP - Labour - Leicester South
Anne McIntosh MP - Conservative - Vale of York
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:                                                                

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to