European Scrutiny Committee, Press Notice No. 13

Select Committee Announcement

Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 3JA
Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson 020 7219 1589

12 June 2008


'The Conclusions of the European Council and the Council of Ministers: Follow-up Report'

The European Scrutiny Committee today publishes its Twenty-fifth Report of Session 2007-08, 'The Conclusions of the European Council and the Council of Ministers: Follow-up Report,' (HC 606).

In February the Committee published its Tenth Report of Session 2007-08 on an inquiry into the arrangements for the preparation, consideration and approval of the Conclusions of the European Council and the Council of Ministers.

In that report the Committee recommended that the Government discuss with other Member States whether a clear, definitive and accessible record of the proceedings of the European Council should be made as a matter of course. The Committee also recommended that the Government deposit in Parliament the draft of the European Council's Conclusions.

The Committee has now received a letter from the Foreign Secretary containing the Government's response to the Committee's Tenth Report. The letter is published as written evidence to the 25th report.

The Chairman of the European Scrutiny Committee, Michael Connarty MP, says:

"The Foreign Secretary's letter just repeats Government views which have already been put to us. We are still not persuaded by his arguments and see no need to depart from what we said in our Tenth Report. The Government should give Parliament the opportunity to scrutinize the Conclusions while they are still in draft and should pursue our original recommendations to discuss with other Member States the options for improving the process by which Council Conclusions are prepared."

Copies may be obtained from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available on our website at the address below


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

2. Transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on