European Scrutiny Committee, Press Notice No. 10

8 May 2008


The European Scrutiny Committee will be taking evidence in public from Professor Alan Dashwood, Professor of European Law, University of Cambridge, on Wednesday 14 May.

The Committee will question Professor Dashwood about whether the provisions in the Lisbon Treaty will give national parliaments a new and effective role in ensuring that the European Union acts only where it can add value, and where action at individual Member State level is insufficient.

The evidence session will take place at 2.30pm in Committee Room 19, Palace of Westminster.

For more information please contact Alex Paterson (Contact details above)


1. The Lisbon Treaty was signed by Heads of State of each of the 27 Member States of the European Union in December 2007. It is currently in the process of ratification. The governments of the Member States have set 1 January 2009 as the target date for completing the ratification process.

2. Article 5 of the Treaty on European Union as amended by the Lisbon Treaty states that "Under the principle of subsidiarity, in areas which do not fall within its exclusive competence, the Union shall act only if and insofar as the objectives of the proposed action cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States, either at central or at regional and local level, but can rather, by reason of the scale or effects of the proposed action, be better achieved at Union level."

3. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

4. Transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

Committee Website

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on