European Scrutiny Committee

No. 20
(Session 2002-03)



On Wednesday 16 July the European Scrutiny Committee will take evidence in public from Rt Hon Peter Hain MP, Government representative on the Convention on the Future of Europe, on the Convention and the draft constitutional treaty for the EU which the Convention has prepared.  This evidence session will take place at 2.30 pm in Committee Room No. 15.

For further information telephone 020 7219 5467/3292

10 July 2003

Note for Editors

The Convention on the Future of Europe was established by the European Council's Laeken Declaration of December 2001, which determined its composition, mandate and working methods. It consists of government representatives, national parliamentarians, MEPs and members of the European Commission, and is chaired by Giscard d'Estaing.  It began meeting in February 2002 and has compiled a draft constitutional treaty or constitution to replace the existing treaties. 

Most of the draft Treaty was reported to the European Council on 20 June, although the Convention will continue working on Part III of the draft until 11 July.  An Inter-Governmental Conference (IGC) will meet from October to consider the Convention's proposals, and it will be the IGC which makes the final decisions, subject to national ratification.

The European Scrutiny Committee has just published two Reports on the Convention:  Twenty-fourth Report of Session 2002-03, The Convention on the Future of Europe and the Role of National Parliaments (HC63-xxiv) and Twenty-sixth Report, The Convention's proposals on criminal justice (HC 63-xxvi).

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated.  Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House.  The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments. 

 The Committee has 16 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Colin Breed MP - Lib Dem - Cornwall South East
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Tony Cunningham MP - Labour - Workington
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Terry Davis MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Mark Hendrick MP - Labour - Preston
Jim Marshall MP - Labour - Leicester South
Anne McIntosh MP - Conservative - Vale of York
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:                                                                

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to