European Scrutiny Committee

News Release, PN 8, Session 2006-07

Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA
Committee Contact: Thomas Powell 020 7219 3292
Internet site:

7 March 2007


On 21 February the European Commission adopted its Annual Policy (APS) for 2008. This document is the first indication of the Commission's priorities for its work during 2008, and sets out the broad outlines of policies and the legislative and non-legislative proposals that it intends to propose during the year. In publishing this document, the Commission looks forward to a constructive dialogue and exchange of views with the European Parliament and the Council on where its policy priorities should lie in 2008, and how these should be reflected both in the Commission's Legislative and Work Programme (CLWP), its concrete work programme for the year, to be adopted in October, and in the EC Budget for 2008.

Examination of the 2008 APS is also a priority for the German Presidency of COSAC, the Conference of European affairs committees of Member State national parliaments.

The Committee considers the document an important preliminary planning tool for the year ahead, and one which offers the opportunity to influence the direction of the 2008 CLWP. The Committee has therefore decided to hold an inquiry.

The terms of reference for the inquiry are:

To examine the Annual Policy Strategy 2008 and its role as a planning tool in the preparation of the Commission's 2008 Legislative and Work Programme.

The Committee would welcome views from interested parties on all or any of the following questions:

€What are the significant initiatives that the European Commission is proposing?
€Do any of the proposals raise concerns in terms of their content, or with regards to the principles of subsidiarity or proportionality?
€Does the document provide a clear indication of the direction that the European Commission is planning to take in 2008, and how this links into the key long-term objectives and policies of the EU?
€Is the document a useful planning tool? Is it clear how it will feed in to the Commission's eventual Legislative and Work Programme for 2008?

Evidence should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee by 17 April 2007.

Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Richard Bacon MP, Conservative, David Borrow MP, Labour, William Cash MP, Conservative, James Clappison MP, Conservative, Katy Clark MP, Labour, Wayne David MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Nia Griffith MP, Labour, David Hamilton MP, Labour, David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Jimmy Hood MP, Labour , Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)

Written evidence should if possible be in Word or rich text format€”not PDF format€”and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from. The deadline is Tuesday 17 April 2007.

Submissions must address the terms of reference. They should be in the format of a self-contained memorandum. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference and, if more than six pages long, the document must include an executive summary. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere, though previously published work can be referred to in a submission and submitted as supplementary material. Once submitted, your submission becomes the property of the Committee and no public use should be made of it unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to publish the written evidence it receives, either by printing the evidence, publishing it on the internet or making it publicly available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure; the Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

For data protection purposes, it would be helpful if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details in a covering letter or e-mail.

Contact: Emma Webbon, Second Clerk on 020 7219 6481 or