European Scrutiny Committee

No. 11
(Session 2004-05)



The European Scrutiny Committee tomorrow (Wednesday 6 April 2005) publishes a report on Aspects of the EU's Constitutional Treaty.

The Report covers many aspects of the Constitutional Treaty including:

  • the values and objectives of the European Union;

  • the primacy of Union law;

  • legislative meetings of the Council in public;

  • reform of the Council;

  • enhanced cooperation;

  • the Charter of Fundamental Rights;

  • the Government's 'red lines';

  • the 'emergency brakes';

  • criminal justice; and

  • consequences if the Treaty is not ratified.

Copies of the Report will be available at 11 am tomorrow from the reception of 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA and the Press Gallery of the House of Commons.

For further information telephone 020 7219 5467/3292

5 April 2005

Note for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated.  Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House.  The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments.

The Committee currently has 15 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
Liam Byrne MP - Labour - Birmingham Hodge Hill
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Nick Harvey MP - Lib Dem - North Devon
David Heathcoat-Amory MP - Conservative - Wells
Sandra Osborne MP - Labour - Ayr
Anne Picking MP - Labour - East Lothian
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to