European Scrutiny Committee

News Release, PN No. 21, 2006-07

Committee Office, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson 020 7219 1589

4 October 2007


The European Scrutiny Committee will be publishing its Thirty-Fifth Report of Session 2006-07, â‚ËœEuropean Union Intergovernmental Conference,' (HC 1014) on Tuesday 9 October at 00.01hrs.

Embargoed copies of the Report and an embargoed substantive press release will be available to members of the press on Monday 7 October at 11.00am from the reception desk, 7 Millbank SW1A 3JA. These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (Tel: 020 7219 3292). Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Press Galleries. Members of the press who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact the Media Office on 020 7219 1589.

Further copies may be obtained from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available on our website at the address below soon after

Note for Editors

The European Scrutiny Committee reports to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and recommends EU documents for debate. Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House. The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.

The Committee has 16 Members, as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Mr Wayne David MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Nia Griffith MP, Labour, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:


Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5467/3292,
Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488, email -
Committee Website:
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on