European Scrutiny Committee

No. 21
(Session 2003-04)



On Wednesday 3 November the European Scrutiny Committee will take evidence in public from Jane Kennedy, Minister of State for Work at the Department for Work and Pensions on a draft Regulation relating to the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work.  This evidence session will take place at 2.30 pm in Room 19, Upper Committee Corridor, House of Commons.

The Committee regarded the content of the draft Regulation as uncontroversial.  However, EU legislation has to be founded on one or more Articles in the Treaties, and in the Committee's view the legal base proposed for the draft Regulation was unlawful.  It therefore considered that the Government could not properly give its agreement.  That agreement was, however, given on 4 October, and the Committee has asked the Minister to explain why the Government's agreement was given.

The Committee's report on the draft Regulation is attached.

For further information telephone 020 7219 5467/3292

29 October 2004

 Note for Editors

The main purpose of the European Scrutiny Committee is to report to the House on the legal and political importance of each EU document and to determine which EU documents are debated.  Such debates take place either in a European Standing Committee or on the Floor of the House.  The Committee normally reports weekly on a range of documents when the House is sitting.  The Committee also monitors business in the Council of Ministers, especially the activities of UK Ministers in the Council, and produces occasional reports on wider EU developments.

The Committee currently has 14 Members, as follows:

Jimmy Hood MP (Chairman) - Labour - Clydesdale
Richard Bacon MP - Conservative - South Norfolk
William Cash MP - Conservative - Stone
Michael Connarty MP - Labour - Falkirk East
Wayne David MP - Labour - Caerphilly
Jim Dobbin MP - Labour/Co-op - Heywood & Middleton
Nick Harvey MP - Lib Dem - North Devon
David Heathcoat-Amory MP - Conservative - Wells
Sandra Osborne MP - Labour - Ayr
Anne Picking MP - Labour - East Lothian
Angus Robertson MP - SNP - Moray
John Robertson MP - Labour - Glasgow Anniesland
Anthony Steen MP - Conservative - Totnes
Bill Tynan MP - Labour - Hamilton South

The text of all Committee publications, including Press Notices and Reports, can be found on the Committee's website:

If you would like to receive future Press Notices by e-mail, please send your details to