Formal Minutes

Wednesday 25 June 2008

Members present:

Michael Connarty, in the Chair
Mr Adrian Bailey
Mr William Cash
Mr James Clappison
Ms Katy Clark
Mr Greg Hands
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Kelvin Hopkins
Mr Bob Laxton
Mr Anthony Steen
Richard Younger-Ross

1. Subsidiarity and the Role of National Parliaments

Mr Jim Murphy MP, Minister for Europe, and Ms Deborah Bronnert, Head of Europe Delivery Group, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, gave oral evidence.

2. Private Deliberative Session

3. The Committee met in public for the scrutiny of documents

Draft Report, proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1.1 to 16 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Twenty-eighth Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman make the Report to the House.

4. EC-UK Meeting

Resolved, That the Chairman and Clerk have leave to visit Edinburgh to attend the EC-UK forum in a representative capacity.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 2 July at 2.30 p.m.