Formal Minutes

Monday 23 June 2008

Members present:

Michael Connarty, in the Chair
Ms Katy Clark
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Kelvin Hopkins
Mr Lindsay Hoyle
Mr Anthony Steen

1. Subsidiarity and the Role of National Parliaments

Margot Wallstrm, Vice President, Commissioner for Institutional Relations and Communication Strategy, Mr Patrick Costello, Deputy Head of Cabinet, Mr Sten Ramstedt, Member of Cabinet, European Commission, and Mr Reijo Kemppinen, Head of the European Commission Representation in the UK gave oral evidence.

The Chairman's attention having been called to the fact that five Members were not present, he suspended the proceedings; and other Members having come into the room, and five Members being present the proceedings were resumed.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 25 June at 2.15 p.m.