Formal Minutes

Tuesday 19 July 2005

Members present:

Mr Jimmy Hood, in the Chair
Mr David S Borrow
Mr William Cash
Mr Michael Connarty
Rosie Cooper
Wayne David
Michael Gove
Nia Griffith
Mr David Hamilton
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Mr Lindsay Hoyle
Mr Anthony Steen
Mr Richard Younger-Ross

The Committee deliberated.

The UK's Presidency of the European Union: Rt Hon Douglas Alexander MP, Minister for Europe, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Mr David Frost, Assistant Director, EU Internal Division, and Mr Tim Barrow, Assistant Director, EU External Division, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 20 July at half-past Two o'clock.