Formal Minutes

Wednesday 12 July 2006

Members present:

Mr David S Borrow
Mr William Cash
Michael Connarty
Mr Wayne David
Jim Dobbin
Nia Griffith
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Mr Lindsay Hoyle
Angus Robertson
Mr Anthony Steen

In the absence of the Chairman, Mr Michael Connarty was called to the Chair.

The Committee deliberated.

Current matters relating to the European Union: Rt Hon Geoffrey Hoon MP, Minister for Europe, Ms Shan Morgan, Director of European Union and Mr Anthony Smith, Director of European Political Affairs, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, were examined.

Draft Report, proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1.1 to 11.26 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 11.27 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraphs 11.28 to 13 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report, as amended, be the Thirty-fifth Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

The Committee further deliberated.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 19 July at 2.30 p.m.