Formal Minutes

Wednesday 12 January 2005

Members present:

Mr Richard Bacon
Mr William Cash
Mr Michael Connarty
Nick Harvey
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Angus Robertson
John Robertson
Mr Anthony Steen
Mr Bill Tynan

In the absence of the Chairman, Mr Michael Connarty was called to the Chair.

The Committee deliberated.

The EU's constitutional Treaty: Professor Alan Dashwood, CBE, Professor of European Law, University of Cambridge, and Mr Martin Howe QC, Barrister, were examined.

Draft Report, proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1.1 to 27.10 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 27.11 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraphs 27.12 to 38 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Third Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

Ordered, That the following paper be appended to the Report: Report on Council meeting.

The Committee further deliberated.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 19 January at 2.30 p.m.