Formal Minutes

Wednesday 8 December 2004

Members present:

Mr Jimmy Hood, in the Chair
Mr Richard Bacon
Mr William Cash
Mr Michael Connarty
Mr Wayne David
Jim Dobbin
Nick Harvey
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Sandra Osborne
Angus Robertson
Mr Bill Tynan

The Committee deliberated.

The EU's Constitutional Treaty: Professor Piet Eeckhout, Professor of European Law, King's College, London, and Professor Grainne de Burca, Professor of European Law, European University Institute, Florence, were examined.

Draft Report, proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1.1 to 9.11 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 9.12 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraphs 9.13 to 14 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Second Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

The Committee further deliberated.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 15 December at 2.20 p.m.