European Scrutiny Committee Press Notice 18


'Subsisdiarity, National Parliaments and the Lisbon Treaty'

On Tuesday 21 October at 00.01am, the European Scrutiny Committee will publish its Thirty - Third Report of Session 2007-08, on 'Subsidiarity, National Parliaments and the Lisbon Treaty' (HC 563).

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to members of the press on Monday 20 October at 11.00am from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, SW1A 3JA. These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (Tel: 020 7219 3292). Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Press Gallery. Members of the press who wish to receive an electronic copy should contact the Media Office on 020 7219 1589.

Further copies may be obtained from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available from our website at the address below


1. The European Scrutiny Committee has just completed an inquiry into the Lisbon Treaty's provisions on the role of national parliaments in EU business, such as considering whether proposals for EU legislation comply with the principle of subsidiarity. (The subsidiarity principle requires that, where both the EU and Member States have power to take action, it should be taken at the national, regional or local level unless it would be more effective to take the action at EU level.)

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

3. Transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

Committee Website

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on