European Scruiny Committee Press Notice 7

1 June 2009



The European Scrutiny Committee will be taking evidence from Lord Myners, Financial Services Secretary, HM Treasury on Commission Communication: Driving European recovery. The Committee wishes to hear particularly about the Government's expectations and ambitions in relation to the section of the Communication entitled "Restoring and maintaining a stable and reliable financial system", which relates to matters of regulation and supervision of financial services dealt with in the de Larosi¨re Report. The Committee has recommended that the Communication be debated in European Committee, once it has taken Lord Myners' evidence.

The public evidence session will take place on Wednesday, 3 June at 9.30am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

For further information please contact Alex Paterson (contact details above).


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Michael Connarty MP (Chairman), Labour, Mr Adrian Bailey MP, Labour, Mr David S Borrow MP, Labour, Mr William Cash MP, Conservative, Mr James Clappison MP, Conservative, Ms Katy Clark MP, Labour, Jim Dobbin MP, Labour/Co-op, Mr Greg Hands MP, Conservative, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory MP, Conservative, Keith Hill MP, Labour, Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour, Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP, Labour, Mr Bob Laxton MP, Labour, Angus Robertson MP, SNP, Mr Anthony Steen MP, Conservative, Richard Younger Ross MP, Lib Dem

2. The Committee's report on the Commission Communication, in which it called for evidence from Lord Myners and recommended the document for debate, is at

Transcripts of the committee's oral evidence session can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488488, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information:, 020 7219 5467/3292

Committee Website

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on