Environmental Audit Committee

4 February 2010


Environmental Audit Committee to examine UK Financial Investments

The Environmental Audit Committee will hold an oral evidence session on Tuesday 9 March 2010 at 10.20am to examine what scope exists for UK Financial Investments to support the transition to a low-carbon economy within the rules that govern what it does, what could be done if these rules were changed and what would need to happen to make this possible.

The Committee invites organisations and members of the public to submit written evidence setting out their views on these issues. Submissions should be sent to the Committee by 26 February 2010. Guidance on preparing submissions is set out below.

Further details will be published nearer the time.

Please note

Each submission should:

  • Be no more than 3,000 words in length;
  • Begin with a short summary in bullet point form;
  • Have numbered paragraphs; and
  • Be in Word format with as little use of colour or logos as possible.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at: http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/witness.cfm

A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to eacom@parliament.uk and marked 'UK Financial investments'. An additional paper copy should be sent to:

Clerk of the Committee
Environmental Audit Committee
House of Commons
7 Millbank

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals submitting written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Please supply a postal address so a copy of the Committee's report can be sent to you upon publication.

Please also note that:

  • Material published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a proposed memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.
  • Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organisation submitting it is specifically authorised.
  • Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.
  • Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.


Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP
Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP
Mr Martin Caton MP Ms Jane Kennedy MP Mr Graham Stuart MP
Colin Challen MP Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP
Mr David Chaytor MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP
Mr Martin Horwood MP Mr Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

Media Enquiries: Nick Davies, 020 7219 3297 or via email: daviesnick@parliament.uk

Other enquiries: Gordon Clarke, 020 7219 0248 or via email: clarkeg@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Details of all the Committee's press releases and inquiries, together with its Reports, oral evidence and other publications, are available on the Committee's Internet home page, which can be found at: www.parliament.uk/eacom/

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk