Environmental Audit Committee Press Notice


Greening Government 

The Environmental Audit Committee is pleased to announce an oral evidence session in connection with its inquiry into ‘Greening Government’, which was launched on 31 March 2009.

Tuesday 5th May, The Wilson Room, Portcullis House


  • Andrew Lee, Director, Sustainable Development Commission
  • Minas Jacob, Team Leader, Watchdog, Sustainable Development Commission
  • Farooq Ullah, Policy Analyst, Strategic Assessment, Sustainable Development Commission


  •  William Jordan, Chief Sustainability and Operating Officer, Office of Government Commerce
  •  Bill Stow, Director General, Strategy and Evidence Group, Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)
  • Trevor Hutchings, Head of Low Carbon Economy Divisions, Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC)      


1. Membership:

Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP

Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP

Mr Martin Caton MP Jane Kennedy MP* Mr Graham Stuart MP

Colin Challen MP Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP

Mr David Chaytor MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP

Martin Horwood MP Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

* The Minister for the Environment has ex-officio membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary’s membership of the Committee of Public Accounts

2. More information on the Committee’s reports can be found on the Committee website at: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

Committee Enquiries:

Gordon Clarke, 020 7219 0248 or via email: clarkeg@parliament.uk

Media Enquiries:

 Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430  or via email: pearcehm@parliament.uk 

Specific Committee Information:  Details of all the Committee’s press releases and inquiries, together with its Reports, oral evidence and other publications, are available on the Committee’s Internet home page, which can be found at:

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk