Environmental Audit Committee Press Notice


Reducing greenhouse gas emissions from deforestation: No hope without forests

Reducing greenhouse gas emissions from deforestation: No hope without forests will be published as the Environmental Audit Committee's Fifth Report of Session 2008-09, HC 30, at 00.01am on Monday 29th June 2009.

Embargoed PDF copies of the Report will be available from 11.00am on Friday 26 June 2009. Witnesses who require an embargoed PDF copy should email the Committee at eacom@parliament.uk. Members of the press should contact Hannah Pearce on 0207 7219 8430 or by email at pearcehm@parliament.uk

Once the Report has been published, copies can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting House of Commons No. HC 30.

The text of the Report will be available on the Committee's Internet homepage from noon, on Monday 29th June 2009: www.parliament.uk/eacom

Contact details

Media enquiries:

Hannah Pearce 020 7219 8430

Other enquiries:

Gordon Clarke 020 7219 0248

Notes for Editors:

The Environmental Audit Committee

Under the terms of the Standing Order No. 152A the Environmental Audit Committee is to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development: to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House. The Committee was set up on 13 July 2005.


Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP

Mr Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP

Mr Martin Caton MP Jane Kennedy MP* Mr Graham Stuart MP

Colin Challen MP Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP

Mr David Chaytor MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP

Mr Martin Horwood MP Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

* The Minister for the Environment has membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary's membership of the Committee of Public Accounts.