Environmental Audit Committee Press Notice


Personal Carbon Trading

On Thursday 18 June there will be a debate in Westminster Hall on the Environmental Audit Committee's Fifth Report of Session 2007-08: Personal Carbon Trading. The debate will run from 2.30pm to 5.30pm and will be open to the public.

The debate will focus on the conclusions of the Report and the subsequent Government response.

The Report to be debated is:

Fifth Report from the Environmental Audit Committee, Session 2007-08, Personal Carbon Trading, HC 565, published on 26 May 2008 (http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200708/cmselect/cmenvaud/565/565.pdf)

The press notice issued at the time the Report was published can be found on the Committee's website at: ( http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee/eac260508.cfm)

Also relevant is the Government Response to the Fifth Report:

Seventh Special Report from the Environmental Audit Committee, Session 2007-08, Personal carbon trading: Government Response to the Committee's Fifth Report of Session 2007-08, HC 1125, published on 5 November 2008 ( http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200708/cmselect/cmenvaud/1125/1125.pdf)

Members of the public wishing to attend should enter via the Visitor's Centre where they will be directed through security and to Westminster Hall. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering Westminster Hall. Under no circumstances should members of the public address Members during the debate. Those attending the debate are asked to remain silent throughout. For further information please call Susan Monaghan, on 020 7219 5776.


1. Membership:

Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP

Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP
Mr Martin Caton MP Jane Kennedy MP* Mr Graham Stuart MP
Colin Challen MP Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP
Mr David Chaytor MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP
Martin Horwood MP Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

* The Minister for the Environment has membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary's membership of the Committee of Public Accounts

2. More information on the Committee's reports can be found on the Committee website at: www.parliament.uk/eacom/

Committee Enquiries: Gordon Clarke, 020 7219 0248 or via email: clarkeg@parliament.uk

Media Enquiries: Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430 or via email: pearcehm@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Details of all the Committee's press releases and inquiries, together with its Reports, oral evidence and other publications, are available on the Committee's Internet home page, which can be found at:

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/eacom/

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk