Reducing CO2 and other emissions from shipping

The third evidence session on reducing CO2 and other emissions from shipping, will take place on Tuesday 18th November.

Tuesday 18th November 2008, Committee Room 6


  • Dr Terry Barker (Programme Leader-Integrating Frameworks, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research)
  • Dr Alice Bows (Tyndall Senior Research Fellow, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research)  


  •  Gillian Reynolds (Principal Environment and Sustainability Adviser, Lloyd’s Register)

c.11.35 am

  •  Peter Barham (Sustainable Development Manager, Association of
    British Ports)
  •  Alan Cartwright (Marine Engineer, Port of London Authority and advisor on shipping emissions
    and MARPOL to UK Major Ports Group)
  • Howard Holt (Head of Corporate Affairs, Dover Harbour Board and representative of the British
    Ports Association)

The fourth evidence session on reducing CO2 and other emissions from shipping will take place on Tuesday 25th November 

Tuesday 25th November 2008, Committee Room 6


  • Joan Ruddock MP, (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, DECC)
  • Jim Fitzpatrick MP, (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, DfT)
  • Simon Cockburn, (Head of the UK’s delegation to the IMO)

The Committee normally meets in a committee room at Westminster. These sessions are open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There may be last minute changes of room and meetings may be held either in the Palace of Westminster or in Portcullis House.


1.     Membership:

Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP

Mr Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mr Graham Stuart MP

Mr Martin Caton MP Mr Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP

Mr Colin Challen MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP

Mr David Chaytor MP Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

Martin Horwood MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP Phil Woolas MP*

* The Minister for the Environment has ex-officio membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary’s membership of the Committee of Public Accounts

2.    More information on the Committee’s reports can be found on the Committee website at: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718  or via email: kibbyl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information:  Details of all the Committee’s press releases and inquiries, together with its Reports, oral evidence and other publications, are available on the Committee’s Internet home page, which can be found at:

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk