Environmental Audit Committee Press Notice

7 January 2009


Carbon Budgets

The one-off evidence session with Lord Turner on the UK's Carbon Budgets due to have taken place on 13 January has been postponed. A new date for this evidence session will be announced as soon as possible.

Lord Adair Turner of Ecchinswell is Chair of the Committee on Climate Change. He is also Chair of the Financial Services Authority. He has previously been Chair at the Low Pay Commission, the Pension Commission, and was Director-General of the Confederation of British Industry (CBI). The core function of the Committee on Climate Change is to recommend what the level of the UK's 'Carbon budgets' should be. The Committee published its First Report in December 2008; in which it outlined recommendations for UK Carbon budgets in three time periods 2008-12, 2013-17 and 2018-22.


1. Membership:

Chairman: Mr Tim Yeo, MP

Mr Gregory Barker MP Mr Nick Hurd MP Mr Graham Stuart MP

Mr Martin Caton MP Mr Mark Lazarowicz MP Jo Swinson MP

Mr Colin Challen MP Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Dr Desmond Turner MP

Mr David Chaytor MP Shahid Malik MP Joan Walley MP

Martin Horwood MP Mrs Linda Riordan MP Phil Woolas MP*

* The Minister for the Environment has ex-officio membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary's membership of the Committee of Public Accounts

2. More information on the Committee's reports can be found on the Committee website at: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

Committee Enquiries:

Gordon Clarke, 020 7219 0248 or via email: clarkeg@parliament.uk

Media Enquiries:

Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718 or via email: kibbyl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Details of all the Committee's press releases and inquiries, together with its Reports, oral evidence and other publications, are available on the Committee's Internet home page, which can be found at:

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/environmental_audit_committee.cfm

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk