Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

Session 2003-04

10 May 2004

GM Planting Regime Sub-committee: Evidence Sessions Announced

The GM Planting Regime Sub-committee of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee has decided to hold a two oral evidence sessions in relation to its inquiry into aspects of the GM Planting Regime following the Government’s announcement about GM maize cultivation, made on 9 March 2004.

Monday 17 May 2004

4.00pm    GeneWatch, Greenpeace and the Soil Association
4.40pm    National Farmers’ Union
5.20pm    SCIMAC and the Agricultural Biotechnology Council

Monday 24 May 2004

4.00pm    Professor Malcolm Grant, Chair, Agriculture and Environment Biotechnology Commission
4.45pm    Elliot Morley MP, Minister for Environment and Agri-Environment, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

In light of the recent announcement by Bayer about the cultivation of GM Maize the Sub-committee has shifted the focus of its inquiry somewhat. It will now concentrate on liability and on co-existence of GM with non-GM crops more generally, rather than exclusively on GM maize.

Membership of the Sub-committee: Mr David Drew MP (Chairman), Ms Candy Atherton MP, Patrick Hall MP, Mr Michael Jack MP, Diana Organ MP, Joan Ruddock MP, Alan Simpson MP, Paddy Tipping MP, Mr Bill Wiggin MP.



For the terms of reference of this inquiry please see the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee press notice, published 11 March 2004.

The Committee normally meets in a committee room in Portcullis House at Westminster. There are often last minute changes of room and meetings may be held either in the Palace of Westminster or in Portcullis House. Those wishing to attend should check the venue by calling the committee office information line the day before the hearing on 020 7219 2033.