East Midlands Committee Press Notice

Session 2009-10

15 January 2010

PUBLIC EVIDENCE HEARING ANNOUNCED: The share of funding received by the East Midlands

5.15pm, Tuesday 19 January 2010

Committee Room 8 at the House of Commons

MPs on the East Midlands Committee will hold their third evidence session for the inquiry into The share of Funding received by the East Midlands on Tuesday 19 January at the House of Commons.


At 5.15pm:

East Midlands Development Agency
Jeff Moore, Chief Executive; and
Steve Harley, Head of Spatial Development

At 6.00pm:

Phil Hope MP, Minister for the East Midlands; and
Stephen Hillier, Regional Director, Government Office for the East Midlands


The terms of reference for the inquiry:

€ whether Government bodies, and local government, in the region, including but not limited to the police, health services, and education, receive an appropriate share of Government funding for these services available in the nation as a whole;

€ the processes by which the levels of such funding are decided; and

€ whether national funding bodies, such as Lottery Funds, allocate an appropriate share of their spending to causes and projects within the East Midlands region.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Paddy Tipping (Chairman) MP for Sherwood
Mr John Heppell MP for Nottingham East
Mr Bob Laxton MP for Derby North
Judy Mallaber MP for Amber Valley
Sir Peter Soulsby MP for Leicester South

Committee Information: Ian Thomson THOMSONIR@parliament.uk Tel: 020 7219 0736 http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/emid.cfm
Media Information: Nick Davies, e:mail daviesnick@parliament.uk Tel: 020 7219 3297
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk.