Formal Minutes

Wednesday 23 February 2005

Members present:

Mr Barry Sheerman, in the Chair
Mr David Chaytor
Valerie Davey
Jeff Ennis
Mr Nick Gibb
Paul Holmes
Helen Jones
Mr Andrew Turner

The Committee deliberated.

Tuition Fees and Student Bursaries: Professor Michael Driscoll, Vice Chancellor, Middlesex University and Chairman, CMU; Professor John Tarrant, Vice Chancellor, University of Huddersfield; and Professor David Vincent, Pro Vice Chancellor, The Open University, were examined.

Dr John Hood, Vice Chancellor, University of Oxford, and Sir Alan Wilson, Director General, Higher Education Directorate, Department for Education and Skills, were examined.

[Adjourned till Monday 21 February at half-past Three o’clock.