Formal Minutes

Tuesday 8 February 2005

Members present:

Mr Barry Sheerman, in the Chair
Mr David Chaytor
Jeff Ennis
Mr John Greenway
Paul Holmes
Helen Jones
Jonathan Shaw

The Committee deliberated.

Prison Education: Levi Smith, Afrim Mahmuti, Cyle Carth and Mohammed Saleh were examined.

Anne Loveday, Head of Learning and Skills, Feltham, Dayo Adegbo, Education Manager, Feltham, Vic Pomeroy, Head of Learning and Skills, HMP The Verne, Peter Blunt, Contract Manager, Strode College, and Fiona Dunsdon, Education Manager, HMP Littlehey, were examined.

Emma Flook, Numeracy Team Leader, Lizzie Foster, Literacy Team Leader, Francesca Hinchcliff, ESOL Tutor, Pat Sandom, Instruction Officer BICS, Ian Hinds, Principal Officer Physical Education, Karen Chaffey Librarian, HMP and YOI Feltham, were examined.

Brian Caton, General Secretary, Prison Officers’ Association, was examined.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 9 February at quarter-past Nine o’clock.