Formal Minutes

Monday 10 January 2004

Members present:

Mr Barry Sheerman, in the Chair
Valerie Davey
Mr Kerry Pollard
Paul Holmes
Jonathan Shaw
Helen Jones
Mr Andrew Turner

The Committee deliberated.

Every Child Matters: Peter Newell, Children’s Rights Alliance for England and Adviser, European Network of Ombudspeople for Children, and Mary Marsh, Chief Executive, NSPCC, examined.

Professor Kathleen Marshall, Commissioner for Children and Young People in Scotland, Mr Peter Clarke, Children’s Commissioner for Wales, and Mr Nigel Williams, Commissioner for Children and Young People for Northern Ireland, examined.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 12 January at 9.15 am