Education and Skills Committee

10 December 2003

Two evidence sessions for the Ministerial Annual Review

In order to scrutinise the work of the Department for Education and Skills properly, the Committee takes evidence from each Minister in the Department at least once every year, whether or not there is a current inquiry into a subject for which a particular minister has responsibility.

Monday 15 December 2003, from 4.00 pm, Wilson Room, Portcullis House

The Committee will be taking oral evidence from the Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MBE MP, Minister of State for Children.

Wednesday 17 December 2003, from 9.15 am, Wilson Room, Portcullis House

The Committee will be taking oral evidence from Baroness Catherine Ashton, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Sure Start, Early Years and Childcare.


Those wishing to attend this session should check the venue by contacting the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 the day before the hearing. The information line is updated daily and provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues and subjects under discussion for select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House’s Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine “the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies”.  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Mr Nick Gibb, Conservative, Bognor Regis & Littlehampton

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Helen Jones, Labour, Warrington North

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight