Education and Skills Committee

6 January 2004

Publication of the Committee's First Special Report of Session 2003-04

Government's Response to the Committee's Seventh Report of Session 2002-03: Secondary Education: Pupil Achievement

The Education and Skills Committee publishes its First Special Report, Government's Response to the Seventh Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03, on Secondary Education: Pupil Achievement (First Special Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2003-04 HC 147) at 11.00 am on Thursday 8 January 2004.

Copies of the special report will be available from the Committee Secretary 0207 219 6181 or The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel: 0845 702 3474) or from the Parliamentary Bookshop (020 7219 3890), or can be viewed on our website from 4.00 pm on 8 January.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine "the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies". The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference. It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.

At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet. Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies. The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication. These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Mr Nick Gibb, Conservative, Bognor Regis & Littlehampton

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Helen Jones Labour, Warrington North

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight