Education and Skills Committee

23 October 2003

Publication of the Committee’s Fifth Special Report

Government’s and Ofsted’s Response to the Committee's Sixth Report: The Work of Ofsted

The Education and Skills Committee publishes its Fifth Special Report, Government’s and Ofsted’s Response to the Sixth Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03, on The Work of Ofsted (Fifth Special Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03 HC 1190) at 10.30 am on Monday 27 October 2003. The Special Report follows the publication of the Committee’s Sixth Report, Session 2002-03, on 23 July 2003, [HC 531].

Copies of the special report will be available from the Committee Secretary 0207 219 6181 or The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel: 0845 702 3474) or from the Parliamentary Bookshop (020 7219 3890), or can be viewed on our website from 4.00 pm on 27 October.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House’s Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine “the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies”. The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference. It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster. At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet. Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies. The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication. These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson Conservative, Wantage

Helen Jones Labour, Warrington North

Mr Kerry Pollard Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman) Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner Conservative, Isle of Wight