Education and Skills Committee

16 May 2003


Following the publication of the DFES annual report on 14 May, the Education and Skills Committee is intending to undertake its annual review of expenditure issues, and will be taking evidence from the Permanent Secretary of the DfES and from the Secretary of State, in the summer.

The Committee would welcome written submissions, in particular on matters relating to school budgets for 2003-04 and on private finance initiative projects.

A guide for written submissions to the Committee may be found on the parliamentary website at:  A copy of any submissions should be sent by e:mail to  or on disk  with an additional paper copy addressed to:

David Lloyd, Clerk, Education & Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London  SW1P 3JA       

by Monday 16th June.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House’s Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine “the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies”.  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn, Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds, Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight