Education and Skills Committee

8 May 2003


The Education and Skills Committee has announced the third part of its Secondary Education inquiry: Teacher Retention. 

The prime focus of the Committee's inquiry will be to scrutinise the Department's policies relating to teacher retention, the evidence upon which they are based and the effect on pupil achievement. We anticipate that the inquiry will cover the factors influencing teacher retention, including recruitment, initial teacher training, workload and continuing professional development.

The Committee will begin taking oral evidence for this inquiry from Monday 19 May 2003 (details to follow).

The Committee would welcome written submissions. A guide for written submissions to the Committee may be found on the parliamentary website at: http:// A copy of any  submissions should be sent on disk or by e:mail ( with an additional paper copy addressed to: Annabel Jones, Second Clerk, Education & Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London. SW1P 3JA, by Monday 2 June.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine "the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies".  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn, Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds, Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight


Personal information held by the Education and Skills Committee is strictly for the use of the Committee and will not be passed on to any other organisation.  If you have any concerns about information held by the Committee please contact the Committee Clerk, House of Commons, Education and Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA.