Education and Skills Committee

14 February 2003

Publication of the Committee's Second Special Report

The Education and Skills Committee publishes its Second Special Report, Government Response to the Sixth Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2001-02, on Post-16 Student Support  (Second Special Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03 HC 440) on Monday 24 February 2003. The Special Report follows the publication of the Committee's Sixth Report, Session 2001-02, on 11 July 2002, the full text of which is available to view via our homepage [HC 445].

Copies of the Second Special Report are available from the Education and Skills Committee office, contact details above. The full text of the report is also available via our homepage.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine "the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies".  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn, Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds, Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight