Education and Skills Committee

16 September 2003

Publication of the Committee’s Fourth Special Report

Government Response to the Committee’s Fourth Report:

Secondary Education: Diversity of Provision

The Education and Skills Committee publishes its Fourth Special Report, Government Response to the Fourth Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03, on Secondary Education: Diversity of Provision (Fourth Special Report from the Education and Skills Committee, Session 2002-03 HC1096) at 3.30pm on Thursday 18 September 2003. The Special Report follows the publication of the Committee’s Fourth Report, Session 2002-03, on 24 July 2003, the full text of which is available to view via our homepage [HC94].

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House’s Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine “the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies”. The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference. It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster. At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet. Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies. The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication. These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman) Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner Conservative, Isle of Wight