Education and Skills Committee

21 July 2003


The Education and Skills Committee has announced the fourth part of its Secondary Education inquiry: School Admissions.

The prime focus of the Committee's inquiry will be to scrutinise the Department's policies relating to school admissions, the evidence upon which they are based, and their effect on pupil and school performance. We anticipate that the inquiry will cover the implementation and coordination of school admissions policies; appeals; social segregation and selection.

The Committee will begin taking oral evidence for this inquiry in September 2003 and would also welcome written submissions. 

A guide for written submissions to the Committee may be found on the parliamentary website at:

A copy of the submission should be sent on disk or by e:mail ( and an additional paper copy should be sent to: Sara Eustace, Education and Skills Committee Specialist, 7 Millbank, London  SW1P 3JA, by Monday 1 September.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine Athe expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies@.  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman) Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner Conservative, Isle of Wight