Education and Skills Committee

14 February 2003

The Work of OFSTED

The Education and Skills Select Committee will be taking formal oral evidence from Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Schools, Mr David Bell, on Wednesday 12 March, from 9.15am in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

This session continues the Committee's bi-annual scrutiny of OFSTED and will review the Chief Inspector's report on Standards and Quality in Education. The Committee would welcome written submissions commenting on the report by Monday 3 March.  These should be sent on disk or by e:mail ( with an additional paper copy addressed to: Sara Eustace, Committee Specialist, Education & Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London. SW1P 3JA.

A guide for written submissions to the Committee may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Those wishing to attend this session should check the venue by contacting the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearing.


Any requests from broadcasters for use of recordings of Committee meetings should be addressed to Andrea Lever, Bowtie Television, 7 Millbank, LONDON SW1P 3JA (Telephone 020 7219 2732).

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine "the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies".  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr David Chaytor, Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey, Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis, Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes, Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Mr Robert Jackson, Conservative, Wantage

Ms Meg Munn, Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard, Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw, Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman), Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds, Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner, Conservative, Isle of Wight