EdSkills Press Notice 3

The Learning and Skills Council

The Education and Skills Committee will be taking formal oral evidence from Mr Bryan Sanderson, Chairman, and Mr John Harwood, Chief Executive, about the work of the Learning Skills Council over the last year.

The hearing will take place from 4.00 pm in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House, on Monday 9 December.

Secretary of State

The Education and Skills Committee continues its annual session with the Secretary of State by  taking formal oral evidence from Rt Hon Charles Clarke MP on Wednesday 11 December from 9.45 am in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

Secondary Education: Diversity of Provision

The Education and Skills Committee will be continuing its Inquiry into Diversity of Provision by taking evidence from David Miliband MP, Minister of State for School Standards, on Wednesday 18 December  from 9.45 am in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House.


With effect from 01 November, Committee staff are as follows Clerk: David Lloyd; Second Clerk: S®an Jones; Committee Specialist: Sara Eustace; Committee Assistant: Lisa Wrobel; Secretary: Cathy Jackson.

Any requests from broadcasters for use of recordings of Committee meetings should be addressed to Andrea Lever, Bowtie Television, 7 Millbank, LONDON SW1P 3JA (Telephone 020 7219 2732).

Those wishing to attend these sessions should check the venue by contacting the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearings.

Information about the Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is one of the House's Select Committees related to government departments: its terms of reference are to examine "the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies".  The Committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry, within the overall terms of reference.  It invites written evidence from interested parties and holds public evidence sessions, usually in committee rooms at the House of Commons, although it does have the power to meet away from Westminster.  At the end of each inquiry, the Committee will normally agree a Report based on the evidence received. Such Reports are published and made available on the Internet.  Copies are sent free to those who give oral evidence. Reports usually contain recommendations to the Government and other bodies.  The Government by convention responds to reports within about two months of publication.  These responses are also published.

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr John Baron Conservative, Billericay

Mr David Chaytor Labour, Bury North

Valerie Davey Labour, Bristol West

Jeff Ennis Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough

Paul Holmes Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield

Ms Meg Munn Labour, Sheffield Heeley

Mr Kerry Pollard Labour, St Albans

Jonathan Shaw Labour, Chatham and Aylesford

Mr Barry Sheerman (Chairman) Labour, Huddersfield

Mr Mark Simmonds Conservative, Boston & Skegness

Mr Andrew Turner Conservative, Isle of Wight


Personal information held by the Education and Skills Committee is strictly for the use of the Committee and will not be passed on to any other organisation.  If you have any concerns about information held by the Committee please contact the Committee Clerk, House of Commons, Education and Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA.