ECC PN8 - 18-03-09

Energy and Climate Change Committee
Committee announcement 8
18 March 2009

Committee to take evidence from the Energy Minister as part of its inquiry into UK offshore oil and gas

The Energy and Climate Change Committee will hold its third and last oral evidence session relating to its inquiry into UK offshore oil and gas on Wednesday 25 March at 9.45 am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. The witness for this session will be:

Mike O'Brien MP, Minister of State, Department of Energy and Climate Change

The issues which are being examined in this inquiry include:

€ How can the UK's remaining offshore oil and gas reserves be exploited most effectively? What barriers are there to exploiting such reserves? What steps need to be taken to unlock resources west of Shetland?

€ What can be done to minimise the environmental impact of exploiting the reserves? How should this be encouraged and/or financed?

€ How effective is the current fiscal and regulatory regime in which the industry operates?

€ What effect is the recession and the credit crunch having on the industry? What is the impact on the financing of exploration and development?

€ How are the skills needs of the sector being met? How transferable are those skills?

€ What are the implications of an ageing existing infrastructure on the security of supplies from the North Sea?

€ Is the right policy framework in place to manage the decommissioning of that infrastructure as resources are depleted?


1. Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Elliot Morley MP, Labour, Scunthorpe (Chairman)
Mr David Anderson MP, Labour, Blaydon
Colin Challen MP, Labour, Morley and Rothwell
Nadine Dorries MP, Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire
Charles Hendry MP, Conservative, Wealden
Miss Julie Kirkbride MP, Conservative, Bromsgrove
Anne Main MP, Conservative, St. Albans
Judy Mallaber MP, Labour, Amber Valley
John Robertson MP, Labour, Glasgow North West
Sir Robert Smith MP, Liberal Democrats, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Paddy Tipping MP, Labour, Sherwood
Dr Desmond Turner MP, Labour, Brighton Kemptown
Mr Mike Weir MP, Scottish National Party, Angus
Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Labour, Southampton Test

2. More information can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Tel: 020 7219 0718, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information: e-mail:, Tel: 020 7219 2569

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on