Energy and Climate Change Committee - Press notice 10

Energy and Climate Change Committee
Committee announcement 10

2 April 2009


The Energy and Climate Change Committee today issued a call for written evidence relating to its forthcoming inquiry into low carbon technologies in a green economy, and their role in stimulating the economy and reducing emissions.

The Committee will examine: what longer term policies and investment are required to achieve the target of achieving an 80% reduction in carbon emissions by 2050; how the UK can best exploit the potential for it to become a leader in the development and utilisation of low carbon technologies; and how the need to ensure energy security and to strengthen the economy can provide an impetus for the development and use of low carbon technologies.

The Committee particularly welcomes evidence addressing the following questions, although respondents are free to comment on any issues that they consider relevant:

€ What opportunities exist for the creation of a green new deal whilst pursuing a low carbon economy? Which technologies have the biggest potential? Has the Government done enough in its stimulus package?

€ How realistic are the Committee on Climate Change's projections for the use of different types of new technologies? What is needed to achieve the development and deployment of them?

€ What are the most important drivers, nationally and internationally, for a low carbon economy in the UK? To what extent do the outcomes of the international negotiations at Copenhagen matter?

€ How important is it to the UK economy that it becomes a leading developer and exporter of low carbon technologies? What Government policy needs to be in place to do this?

€ Are we seeing impacts of a downturn on demand and investment in low carbon technologies? If so, how can this be addressed given the need to meet long term targets? What obstacles to investment are there?

€ What is the potential role for public procurement and policies such as the 2016 zero carbon homes target in driving investment, development and job creation?

The deadline for the submission of written evidence is Friday 15 May. The Committee intends to hold a series of oral evidence sessions in Westminster starting in June. Details will be announced nearer the dates.


Written evidence should be in Word or rich text format-not PDF format-and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from. Hard copy submissions should be sent to: The Clerk, Energy and Climate Change Committee, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA. The deadline is Friday 15 May. As a guideline submissions should be no longer than 3000 words.

Submissions should be in the format of a self-contained memorandum. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document must include an executive summary. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, your submission becomes the property of the Committee and no public use should be made of it unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to publish the written evidence it receives, either by printing the evidence, publishing it on the internet or by making it publicly available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure; the Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

For data protection purposes, it would be helpful if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.


1. Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Elliot Morley MP, Labour, Scunthorpe (Chairman)
Mr David Anderson MP, Labour, Blaydon
Colin Challen MP, Labour, Morley and Rothwell
Nadine Dorries MP, Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire
Charles Hendry MP, Conservative, Wealden
Miss Julie Kirkbride MP, Conservative, Bromsgrove
Anne Main MP, Conservative, St. Albans
Judy Mallaber MP, Labour, Amber Valley
John Robertson MP, Labour, Glasgow North West
Sir Robert Smith MP, Liberal Democrats, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Paddy Tipping MP, Labour, Sherwood
Dr Desmond Turner MP, Labour, Brighton Kemptown
Mr Mike Weir MP, Scottish National Party, Angus
Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Labour, Southampton Test

2. More information can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Hannah Pearce, Tel: 020 7219 8430, e-mail:

Specific Committee Information: e-mail:, Tel: 020 7219 2569

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: