DEF151205 - No. 12

15 December 2005, Session 2005-06

Operational Note

Operational Note

Defence Committee inquiry into the Defence Industrial Strategy

The Ministry of Defence today published its Defence Industrial Strategy (DIS). The DIS takes forward the Defence Industrial Policy published in October 2002, and seeks to set out a strategic view of MoD’s defence requirements by sector, and the principles that will underpin procurement and industrial decisions in the future.

The DIS sets out a challenging agenda, which will require sustained effort from both MoD and industry. If properly implemented the DIS should provide the Armed Forces with the equipment they require, better value for money for the UK taxpayer, and an innovative and technology driven defence industry which provides high quality skilled jobs for the future.

Given its importance, the Defence Committee intends to examine the Defence Industrial Strategy early in the new year.

The Chairman of the Defence Committee, Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP, said:

“It is good news that the Defence Industrial Strategy brings more clarity to what industry can expect from government.  There has been considerable discussion in advance between government and industry about the paper, and it is not surprising therefore that there is so much to be welcomed in it.

But there are some gaps in the paper, which the Committee will want to explore. In particular, Research and Technology, one of the most important matters of all in underpinning our industrial base, seems to have been left for later decision.  Where companies do their research is more often than not where they do their development and then their manufacturing.  So this White Paper is not the complete blueprint that we were hoping for.

Nevertheless, it is to be welcomed.  What is needed now is proper implementation of the plan”.

The Committee would welcome submissions of written evidence expressing views on the Defence Industrial Strategy. These should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee by Friday 20 January 2006. Details of how to submit written evidence are set out below.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr Colin Breed MP, Derek Conway MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, John Smith MP, Mr Desmond Swayne MP

2. News Release No. 12

3. The Defence Industrial Strategy is available on the Ministry of Defence’s website at:


Submissions should be in Word or rich text format and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference. Longer documents should include an executive summary.

Committees make public much of the evidence they receive during inquiries. If you do not wish your submission to be published, you must clearly say so. If you wish to include private or confidential information in your submission to the Committee, please contact the Clerk of the Committee to discuss this.

Personal information, such as address and contact details, should be provided separately from the body of your submission. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, no public use should be made of the submission unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07841 737 349,

email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on